DIY

Matching baby bib and dog bandana

Hello everyone!

Some weeks ago I wrote about the teddy elephant and an elephant rattle, the drawstring backpack and the name banner I made for one of my friends’ new born son.

Today I will show you two other presents that I made for their two kids (their furry son and their baby boy). I know how important their dog Charlie is for them, so I decided to make them matching bib and bandana.

On the bandana I put the letters “big bro” and on the bib “lil’ bro”. I used the font Lucida Grande in bold, size 140pt.

I used:

  • the different patterned fabrics (I used the same as for the other projects)
  • waterproof terry cloth
  • velcro
  • fabric glue

Baby bib

For the baby bib I used a pattern from the webpage Craftaholics Anonymous, even though I didn’t put the pocket as the letters wouldn’t have fit otherwise.

To make this baby bib you have to:

  1. Print the pattern and cut the pieces (I didn’t cut the pocket one as I didn’t use it). I cut the front pieces from the stars pattern and the back one from the waterproof terry cloth.
  2. Sew the different parts together.
  3. Print the letters, cut them (I used the spotted pattern) and glue them on the bib.
  4. Put some glue around the letters so that they won’t fray.
  5. Glue two velcro at the edges.

This is how Fredrik’s bib looks like:

Dog bandana

I used the same materials for the dog bandana.

If you want to make this bandana you have to:

  1. Cut one triangle in a patterned fabric (I used the stars one) and one in waterproof terry cloth. The long side of my triangles was 40cm and the short ones 30cm (it’s 21cm high).
  2. Sew the two pieces together, the two nice sides facing each other.
  3. Turn it around, and close it.
  4. Cut the letters and glue them as in the bib.

Charlie’s bandana looks like this:

Do you like these two projects?

img_4137.jpg

Marta ♥

Leave a comment